• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Bulgaria flag
Extra Small animated flag of Bulgaria
Extra Small still Bulgaria flag
Extra Small still flag of Bulgaria
Small animated Bulgaria flag
Small animated flag of Bulgaria
Small still Bulgaria flag
Small still flag of Bulgaria
Medium animated Bulgaria flag
Medium animated flag of Bulgaria
Medium still Bulgaria flag
Medium still flag of Bulgaria
Large animated Bulgaria flag
Large animated flag of Bulgaria
Large still Bulgaria flag
Large still flag of Bulgaria
Extra Large animated Bulgaria flag
Extra Large animated flag of Bulgaria
Extra Large still Bulgaria flag
Extra Large still flag of Bulgaria
Very Big animated Bulgaria flag
Very Big animated flag of Bulgaria
Very Big still Bulgaria flag
Very Big still flag of Bulgaria
Read license terms before copying or using.

Bulgaria flag information

Description flag of Bulgaria

three equal horizontal bands of white (top), green and red

Flag notes

the national emblem, formerly on the hoist side of the white stripe, has been removed

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Republic of Bulgaria

Short name


Local names

Republika Balgariya (long)
Balgariya (short)


Bulgarian(s) (noun) Balgariya (adjective)

Languages spoken

Bulgarian 84.5%, Turkish 9.6%, Roma 4.1%, other and unspecified 1.8% (2001 census)



Government type

parliamentary democracy


7,262,675 ranked 98, (data 2008)


strategic location near Turkish Straits; controls key land routes from Europe to Middle East and Asia. The lowest point is Black Sea 0 m.


Coastline 354 km.

Land borders

1,808km, Greece 494 km, Macedonia 148 km, Romania 608 km, Serbia 318 km, Turkey 240 km.

Administrative divisions

28 provinces (oblasti, singular - oblast); Blagoevgrad, Burgas, Dobrich, Gabrovo, Khaskovo, Kurdzhali, Kyustendil, Lovech, Montana, Pazardzhik, Pernik, Pleven, Plovdiv, Razgrad, Ruse, Shumen, Silistra, Sliven, Smolyan, Sofiya, Sofiya-Grad, Stara Zagora, Turgovishte, Varna, Veliko Turnovo, Vidin, Vratsa, Yambol


3 March 1878 (as an autonomous principality within the Ottoman Empire); 22 September 1908 (complete independence from the Ottoman Empire)