• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Switzerland flag
Extra Small animated flag of Switzerland
Extra Small still Switzerland flag
Extra Small still flag of Switzerland
Small animated Switzerland flag
Small animated flag of Switzerland
Small still Switzerland flag
Small still flag of Switzerland
Medium animated Switzerland flag
Medium animated flag of Switzerland
Medium still Switzerland flag
Medium still flag of Switzerland
Large animated Switzerland flag
Large animated flag of Switzerland
Large still Switzerland flag
Large still flag of Switzerland
Extra Large animated Switzerland flag
Extra Large animated flag of Switzerland
Extra Large still Switzerland flag
Extra Large still flag of Switzerland
Very Big animated Switzerland flag
Very Big animated flag of Switzerland
Very Big still Switzerland flag
Very Big still flag of Switzerland
Read license terms before copying or using.

Switzerland flag information

Description flag of Switzerland

red square with a bold, equilateral white cross in the center that does not extend to the edges of the flag

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Swiss Confederation

Short name


Local names

Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft (German); Confederation Suisse (French); Confederazione Svizzera (Italian); Confederaziun Svizra (Romansh) (long)
Schweiz (German); Suisse (French); Svizzera (Italian); Svizra (Romansh) (short)


Swiss (singular and plural) (noun) Schweiz (German); Suisse (French); Svizzera (Italian); Svizra (Romansh) (adjective)

Languages spoken

German (official) 63.7%, French (official) 20.4%, Italian (official) 6.5%, Serbo-Croatian 1.5%, Albanian 1.3%, Portuguese 1.2%, Spanish 1.1%, English 1%, Romansch (official) 0.5%, other 2.8% (2000 census)


German, French, Italian, and Romansch are all national and official languages



Government type

formally a confederation but similar in structure to a federal republic


7,581,520 ranked 97, (data 2008)


crossroads of northern and southern Europe; along with southeastern France, northern Italy, and southwestern Austria, has the highest elevations in the Alps. The lowest point is Lake Maggiore 195 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

1,852km, Austria 164 km, France 573 km, Italy 740 km, Liechtenstein 41 km, Germany 334 km.

Administrative divisions

26 cantons, singular - canton in French; cantoni, singular - cantone in Italian; Kantone, singular - Kanton in German); Aargau, Appenzell Ausser-Rhoden, Appenzell Inner-Rhoden, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Bern, Fribourg, Geneve, Glarus, Graubunden, Jura, Luzern, Neuchatel, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Sankt Gallen, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug, Zurich
6 of the cantons - Appenzell Ausser-Rhoden, Appenzell-Inner-Rhoden, Basel-Landschaft, Basel-Stadt, Nidwalden, Obwalden - are styled half cantons because they elect only one member to the Council of States and, in popular referendums where a majority of popular votes and a majority of cantonal votes are required, these six cantons only have a half vote


1 August 1291 (founding of the Swiss Confederation)