• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Netherlands flag
Extra Small animated flag of Netherlands
Extra Small still Netherlands flag
Extra Small still flag of Netherlands
Small animated Netherlands flag
Small animated flag of Netherlands
Small still Netherlands flag
Small still flag of Netherlands
Medium animated Netherlands flag
Medium animated flag of Netherlands
Medium still Netherlands flag
Medium still flag of Netherlands
Large animated Netherlands flag
Large animated flag of Netherlands
Large still Netherlands flag
Large still flag of Netherlands
Extra Large animated Netherlands flag
Extra Large animated flag of Netherlands
Extra Large still Netherlands flag
Extra Large still flag of Netherlands
Very Big animated Netherlands flag
Very Big animated flag of Netherlands
Very Big still Netherlands flag
Very Big still flag of Netherlands
Read license terms before copying or using.

Netherlands flag information

Description flag of Netherlands

three equal horizontal bands of red (top), white and blue; similar to the flag of Luxembourg, which uses a lighter blue and is longer; one of the oldest flags in constant use, originating with WILLIAM I, Prince of Orange, in the latter half of the 16th century

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Kingdom of the Netherlands

Short name


Local names

Koninkrijk der Nederlanden (long)
Nederland (short)


Dutchman(men), Dutchwoman(women) (noun) Nederland (adjective)

Languages spoken

Dutch (official), Frisian (official)



Government type

constitutional monarchy


16,645,313 ranked 61, (data 2008)


located at mouths of three major European rivers (Rhine, Maas or Meuse, and Schelde). The lowest point is Zuidplaspolder -7 m.


Coastline 451 km.

Land borders

1,027km, Belgium 450 km, Germany 577 km.

Administrative divisions

12 provinces (provincies, singular - provincie); Drenthe, Flevoland, Friesland (Fryslan), Gelderland, Groningen, Limburg, Noord-Brabant (North Brabant), Noord-Holland (North Holland), Overijssel, Utrecht, Zeeland (Zealand), Zuid-Holland (South Holland)

Dependent areas

Aruba, Netherlands Antilles


23 January 1579 (the northern provinces of the Low Countries conclude the Union of Utrecht breaking with Spain; on 26 July 1581 they formally declared their independence with an Act of Abjuration; however, it was not until 30 January 1648 and the Peace of Westphalia that Spain recognized this independence)