• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Denmark flag
Extra Small animated flag of Denmark
Extra Small still Denmark flag
Extra Small still flag of Denmark
Small animated Denmark flag
Small animated flag of Denmark
Small still Denmark flag
Small still flag of Denmark
Medium animated Denmark flag
Medium animated flag of Denmark
Medium still Denmark flag
Medium still flag of Denmark
Large animated Denmark flag
Large animated flag of Denmark
Large still Denmark flag
Large still flag of Denmark
Extra Large animated Denmark flag
Extra Large animated flag of Denmark
Extra Large still Denmark flag
Extra Large still flag of Denmark
Very Big animated Denmark flag
Very Big animated flag of Denmark
Very Big still Denmark flag
Very Big still flag of Denmark
Read license terms before copying or using.

Denmark flag information

Description flag of Denmark

red with a white cross that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side; the banner is referred to as the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

Flag notes

the shifted design element was subsequently adopted by the other Nordic countries of Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Kingdom of Denmark

Short name


Local names

Kongeriget Danmark (long)
Danmark (short)


Dane(s) (noun) Danmark (adjective)

Languages spoken

Danish, Faroese, Greenlandic (an Inuit dialect), German (small minority)


English is the predominant second language



Government type

constitutional monarchy


5,484,723 ranked 112, (data 2008)


controls Danish Straits (Skagerrak and Kattegat) linking Baltic and North Seas; about one-quarter of the population lives in greater Copenhagen. The lowest point is Lammefjord -7 m.


Coastline 7,314 km.

Land borders

68km, Germany 68 km.

Administrative divisions

metropolitan Denmark - 5 regions (regioner, singular - region); Hovedstaden, Midtjylland, Nordjylland, Sjaelland, Syddanmark
an extensive local government reform merged 271 municipalities into 98 and 13 counties into five regions, effective 1 January 2007


first organized as a unified state in 10th century; in 1849 became a constitutional monarchy