• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Norway flag
Extra Small animated flag of Norway
Extra Small still Norway flag
Extra Small still flag of Norway
Small animated Norway flag
Small animated flag of Norway
Small still Norway flag
Small still flag of Norway
Medium animated Norway flag
Medium animated flag of Norway
Medium still Norway flag
Medium still flag of Norway
Large animated Norway flag
Large animated flag of Norway
Large still Norway flag
Large still flag of Norway
Extra Large animated Norway flag
Extra Large animated flag of Norway
Extra Large still Norway flag
Extra Large still flag of Norway
Very Big animated Norway flag
Very Big animated flag of Norway
Very Big still Norway flag
Very Big still flag of Norway
Read license terms before copying or using.

Norway flag information

Description flag of Norway

red with a blue cross outlined in white that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side in the style of the Dannebrog (Danish flag)

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Kingdom of Norway

Short name


Local names

Kongeriket Norge (long)
Norge (short)


Norwegian(s) (noun) Norge (adjective)

Languages spoken

Bokmal Norwegian (official), Nynorsk Norwegian (official), small Sami- and Finnish-speaking minorities


Sami is official in six municipalities



Government type

constitutional monarchy


4,644,457 ranked 117, (data 2008)


about two-thirds mountains; some 50,000 islands off its much indented coastline; strategic location adjacent to sea lanes and air routes in North Atlantic; one of most rugged and longest coastlines in the world. The lowest point is Norwegian Sea 0 m.


Coastline 25,148 km. includes mainland 2,650 km, as well as long fjords, numerous small islands, and minor indentations 22,498 km; length of island coastlines 58,133 km

Land borders

2,542km, Finland 727 km, Sweden 1,619 km, Russia 196 km.

Administrative divisions

19 counties (fylker, singular - fylke); Akershus, Aust-Agder, Buskerud, Finnmark, Hedmark, Hordaland, More og Romsdal, Nordland, Nord-Trondelag, Oppland, Oslo, Ostfold, Rogaland, Sogn og Fjordane, Sor-Trondelag, Telemark, Troms, Vest-Agder, Vestfold

Dependent areas

Bouvet Island, Jan Mayen, Svalbard


7 June 1905 (Norway declared the union with Sweden dissolved); 26 October 1905 (Sweden agreed to the repeal of the union)