• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Latvia flag
Extra Small animated flag of Latvia
Extra Small still Latvia flag
Extra Small still flag of Latvia
Small animated Latvia flag
Small animated flag of Latvia
Small still Latvia flag
Small still flag of Latvia
Medium animated Latvia flag
Medium animated flag of Latvia
Medium still Latvia flag
Medium still flag of Latvia
Large animated Latvia flag
Large animated flag of Latvia
Large still Latvia flag
Large still flag of Latvia
Extra Large animated Latvia flag
Extra Large animated flag of Latvia
Extra Large still Latvia flag
Extra Large still flag of Latvia
Very Big animated Latvia flag
Very Big animated flag of Latvia
Very Big still Latvia flag
Very Big still flag of Latvia
Read license terms before copying or using.

Latvia flag information

Description flag of Latvia

three horizontal bands of maroon (top), white (half-width), and maroon

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Republic of Latvia

Short name


Local names

Latvijas Republika (long)
Latvija (short)

Former name

Latvian Soviet Socialist Republic


Latvian(s) (noun) Latvija (adjective)

Languages spoken

Latvian (official) 58.2%, Russian 37.5%, Lithuanian and other 4.3% (2000 census)



Government type

parliamentary democracy


2,245,423 ranked 143, (data 2008)


most of the country is composed of fertile, low-lying plains, with some hills in the east. The lowest point is Baltic Sea 0 m.


Coastline 498 km.

Land borders

1,382km, Belarus 171 km, Estonia 343 km, Lithuania 576 km, Russia 292 km.

Administrative divisions

26 counties (singular - rajons) and 7 municipalities*: Aizkraukles Rajons, Aluksnes Rajons, Balvu Rajons, Bauskas Rajons, Cesu Rajons, Daugavpils*, Daugavpils Rajons, Dobeles Rajons, Gulbenes Rajons, Jekabpils Rajons, Jelgava*, Jelgavas Rajons, Jurmala*, Kraslavas Rajons, Kuldigas Rajons, Liepaja*, Liepajas Rajons, Limbazu Rajons, Ludzas Rajons, Madonas Rajons, Ogres Rajons, Preilu Rajons, Rezekne*, Rezeknes Rajons, Riga*, Rigas Rajons, Saldus Rajons, Talsu Rajons, Tukuma Rajons, Valkas Rajons, Valmieras Rajons, Ventspils*, Ventspils Rajons


18 November 1918 (from Soviet Russia)