• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Austria flag
Extra Small animated flag of Austria
Extra Small still Austria flag
Extra Small still flag of Austria
Small animated Austria flag
Small animated flag of Austria
Small still Austria flag
Small still flag of Austria
Medium animated Austria flag
Medium animated flag of Austria
Medium still Austria flag
Medium still flag of Austria
Large animated Austria flag
Large animated flag of Austria
Large still Austria flag
Large still flag of Austria
Extra Large animated Austria flag
Extra Large animated flag of Austria
Extra Large still Austria flag
Extra Large still flag of Austria
Very Big animated Austria flag
Very Big animated flag of Austria
Very Big still Austria flag
Very Big still flag of Austria
Read license terms before copying or using.

Austria flag information

Description flag of Austria

three equal horizontal bands of red (top), white and red

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Republic of Austria

Short name


Local names

Republik Oesterreich (long)
Oesterreich (short)


Austrian(s) (noun) Oesterreich (adjective)

Languages spoken

German (official nationwide) 88.6%, Turkish 2.3%, Serbian 2.2%, Croatian (official in Burgenland) 1.6%, other (includes Slovene, official in Carinthia, and Hungarian, official in Burgenland) 5.3% (2001 census)



Government type

federal republic


8,205,533 ranked 94, (data 2008)


strategic location at the crossroads of central Europe with many easily traversable Alpine passes and valleys; major river is the Danube; population is concentrated on eastern lowlands because of steep slopes, poor soils, and low temperatures elsewhere. The lowest point is Neusiedler See 115 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

2,562km, Czech Republic 362 km, Germany 784 km, Hungary 366 km, Italy 430 km, Liechtenstein 35 km, Slovakia 91 km, Slovenia 330 km, Switzerland 164 km.

Administrative divisions

9 states (Bundeslaender, singular - Bundesland); Burgenland, Kaernten (Carinthia), Niederoesterreich (Lower Austria), Oberoesterreich (Upper Austria), Salzburg, Steiermark (Styria), Tirol (Tyrol), Vorarlberg, Wien (Vienna)


976 (Margravate of Austria established); 17 September 1156 (Duchy of Austria founded); 11 August 1804 (Austrian Empire proclaimed); 12 November 1918 (republic proclaimed)