• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Belgium flag
Extra Small animated flag of Belgium
Extra Small still Belgium flag
Extra Small still flag of Belgium
Small animated Belgium flag
Small animated flag of Belgium
Small still Belgium flag
Small still flag of Belgium
Medium animated Belgium flag
Medium animated flag of Belgium
Medium still Belgium flag
Medium still flag of Belgium
Large animated Belgium flag
Large animated flag of Belgium
Large still Belgium flag
Large still flag of Belgium
Extra Large animated Belgium flag
Extra Large animated flag of Belgium
Extra Large still Belgium flag
Extra Large still flag of Belgium
Very Big animated Belgium flag
Very Big animated flag of Belgium
Very Big still Belgium flag
Very Big still flag of Belgium
Read license terms before copying or using.

Belgium flag information

Description flag of Belgium

three equal vertical bands of black (hoist side), yellow and red

Flag notes

the design was based on the flag of France

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Kingdom of Belgium

Short name


Local names

Royaume de Belgique/Koninkrijk Belgie (long)
Belgique/Belgie (short)


Belgian(s) (noun) Belgique/Belgie (adjective)

Languages spoken

Dutch (official) 60%, French (official) 40%, German (official) less than 1%, legally bilingual (Dutch and French)



Government type

federal parliamentary democracy under a constitutional monarchy


10,403,951 ranked 78, (data 2008)


crossroads of Western Europe; most West European capitals within 1,000 km of Brussels, the seat of both the European Union and NATO. The lowest point is North Sea 0 m.


Coastline 67 km.

Land borders

1,385km, France 620 km, Germany 167 km, Luxembourg 148 km, Netherlands 450 km.

Administrative divisions

10 provinces (French: provinces, singular - province; Dutch: provincies, singular - provincie) and 3 regions* (French: regions; Dutch: gewesten); Brussels* (Bruxelles) capital region; Flanders* region (five provinces): Antwerpen (Antwerp), Limburg, Oost-Vlaanderen (East Flanders), Vlaams-Brabant (Flemish Brabant), West-Vlaanderen (West Flanders); Wallonia* region (five provinces): Brabant Wallon (Walloon Brabant), Hainaut, Liege, Luxembourg, Namur
as a result of the 1993 constitutional revision that furthered devolution into a federal state, there are now three levels of government (federal, regional, and linguistic community) with a complex division of responsibilities


4 October 1830 (a provisional government declared independence from the Netherlands); 21 July 1831 (King LEOPOLD I ascended to the throne)