• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated France flag
Extra Small animated flag of France
Extra Small still France flag
Extra Small still flag of France
Small animated France flag
Small animated flag of France
Small still France flag
Small still flag of France
Medium animated France flag
Medium animated flag of France
Medium still France flag
Medium still flag of France
Large animated France flag
Large animated flag of France
Large still France flag
Large still flag of France
Extra Large animated France flag
Extra Large animated flag of France
Extra Large still France flag
Extra Large still flag of France
Very Big animated France flag
Very Big animated flag of France
Very Big still France flag
Very Big still flag of France
Read license terms before copying or using.

France flag information

Description flag of France

three equal vertical bands of blue (hoist side), white and red; known as the ""Le drapeau tricolore"" (French Tricolor), the origin of the flag dates to 1790 and the French Revolution; the design and/or colors are similar to a number of other flags, including those of Belgium, Chad, Ireland, Cote d'Ivoire, Luxembourg, and Netherlands; the official flag for all French dependent areas

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

French Republic

Short name


Local names

Republique francaise (long)
France (short)


Frenchman(men), Frenchwoman(women) (noun) France (adjective)

Languages spoken

French 100%, rapidly declining regional dialects and languages (Provencal, Breton, Alsatian, Corsican, Catalan, Basque, Flemish)



Government type



64,057,792 ranked 23, (data 2008)


largest West European nation. The lowest point is Rhone River delta -2 m.


Coastline 4,668 km. metropolitan France: 3,427 km

Land borders

2,889km, Andorra 56.6 km, Belgium 620 km, Germany 451 km, Italy 488 km, Luxembourg 73 km, Monaco 4.4 km, Spain 623 km, Switzerland 573 km.

Administrative divisions

26 regions (regions, singular - region); Alsace, Aquitaine, Auvergne, Basse-Normandie (Lower Normandy), Bourgogne (Burgundy), Bretagne (Brittany), Centre, Champagne-Ardenne, Corse (Corsica), Franche-Comte, Guadeloupe, Guyane (French Guiana), Haute-Normandie (Upper Normandy), Ile-de-France, Languedoc-Roussillon, Limousin, Lorraine, Martinique, Midi-Pyrenees, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, Pays de la Loire, Picardie, Poitou-Charentes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, Reunion, Rhone-Alpes
France is divided into 22 metropolitan regions (including the ""territorial collectivity"" of Corse or Corsica) and 4 overseas regions (including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, and Reunion) and is subdivided into 96 metropolitan departments and 4 overseas departments (which are the same as the overseas regions)

Dependent areas

Clipperton Island, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Lands, Mayotte, New Caledonia, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Martin, Wallis and Futuna


486 (Frankish tribes unified); 843 (Western Francia established from the division of the Carolingian Empire)