• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Spain flag
Extra Small animated flag of Spain
Extra Small still Spain flag
Extra Small still flag of Spain
Small animated Spain flag
Small animated flag of Spain
Small still Spain flag
Small still flag of Spain
Medium animated Spain flag
Medium animated flag of Spain
Medium still Spain flag
Medium still flag of Spain
Large animated Spain flag
Large animated flag of Spain
Large still Spain flag
Large still flag of Spain
Extra Large animated Spain flag
Extra Large animated flag of Spain
Extra Large still Spain flag
Extra Large still flag of Spain
Very Big animated Spain flag
Very Big animated flag of Spain
Very Big still Spain flag
Very Big still flag of Spain
Read license terms before copying or using.

Spain flag information

Description flag of Spain

three horizontal bands of red (top), yellow (double width), and red with the national coat of arms on the hoist side of the yellow band; the coat of arms is quartered to display the emblems of the traditional kingdoms of Spain (clockwise from upper left, Castile, Leon, Navarre, and Aragon) while Granada is represented by the stylized pomegranate at the bottom of the shield; the arms are framed by two columns representing the Pillars of Hercules, which are the two promontories (Gibraltar and Ceuta) on either side of the eastern end of the Strait of Gibraltar; the red scroll across the two columns bears the imperial motto of ""Plus Ultra"" (further beyond) referring to Spanish lands beyond Europe

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Kingdom of Spain

Short name


Local names

Reino de Espana (long)
Espana (short)


Spaniard(s) (noun) Espana (adjective)

Languages spoken

Castilian Spanish (official) 74%, Catalan 17%, Galician 7%, Basque 2%, are official regionally



Government type

parliamentary monarchy


40,491,052 ranked 31, (data 2008)


strategic location along approaches to Strait of Gibraltar; Spain controls a number of territories in northern Morocco including the enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla, and the islands of Penon de Velez de la Gomera, Penon de Alhucemas, and Islas Chafarinas. The lowest point is Atlantic Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 4,964 km.

Land borders

1,918km, Andorra 63.7 km, France 623 km, Gibraltar 1.2 km, Portugal 1,214 km, Morocco (Ceuta) 6.3 km, Morocco (Melilla) 9.6 km.

Administrative divisions

17 autonomous communities (comunidades autonomas, singular - comunidad autonoma) and 2 autonomous cities* (ciudades autonomas, singular - ciudad autonoma); Andalucia, Aragon, Asturias, Baleares (Balearic Islands), Ceuta*, Canarias (Canary Islands), Cantabria, Castilla-La Mancha, Castilla y Leon, Cataluna (Catalonia), Comunidad Valenciana (Valencian Community), Extremadura, Galicia, La Rioja, Madrid, Melilla*, Murcia, Navarra, Pais Vasco (Basque Country)
the autonomous cities of Ceuta and Melilla plus three small islands of Islas Chafarinas, Penon de Alhucemas, and Penon de Velez de la Gomera, administered directly by the Spanish central government, are all along the coast of Morocco and are collectively referred to as Places of Sovereignty (Plazas de Soberania)


the Iberian peninsula was characterized by a variety of independent kingdoms prior to the Muslim occupation that began in the early 8th century A.D. and lasted nearly seven centuries; the small Christian redoubts of the north began the reconquest almost immediately, culminating in the seizure of Granada in 1492; this event completed the unification of several kingdoms and is traditionally considered the forging of present-day Spain