• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Romania flag
Extra Small animated flag of Romania
Extra Small still Romania flag
Extra Small still flag of Romania
Small animated Romania flag
Small animated flag of Romania
Small still Romania flag
Small still flag of Romania
Medium animated Romania flag
Medium animated flag of Romania
Medium still Romania flag
Medium still flag of Romania
Large animated Romania flag
Large animated flag of Romania
Large still Romania flag
Large still flag of Romania
Extra Large animated Romania flag
Extra Large animated flag of Romania
Extra Large still Romania flag
Extra Large still flag of Romania
Very Big animated Romania flag
Very Big animated flag of Romania
Very Big still Romania flag
Very Big still flag of Romania
Read license terms before copying or using.

Romania flag information

Description flag of Romania

three equal vertical bands of blue (hoist side), yellow and red; the national coat of arms that used to be centered in the yellow band has been removed; now similar to the flag of Chad, also resembles the flags of Andorra and Moldova

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Short name


Local names

Romania (short)


Romanian(s) (noun) Romania (adjective)

Languages spoken

Romanian 91% (official), Hungarian 6.7%, Romany (Gypsy) 1.1%, other 1.2%



Government type



22,246,862 ranked 53, (data 2008)


controls most easily traversable land route between the Balkans, Moldova, and Ukraine. The lowest point is Black Sea 0 m.


Coastline 225 km.

Land borders

2,508km, Bulgaria 608 km, Hungary 443 km, Moldova 450 km, Serbia 476 km, Ukraine (north) 362 km, Ukraine (east) 169 km.

Administrative divisions

41 counties (judete, singular - judet) and 1 municipality* (municipiu); Alba, Arad, Arges, Bacau, Bihor, Bistrita-Nasaud, Botosani, Braila, Brasov, Bucuresti (Bucharest)*, Buzau, Calarasi, Caras-Severin, Cluj, Constanta, Covasna, Dimbovita, Dolj, Galati, Gorj, Giurgiu, Harghita, Hunedoara, Ialomita, Iasi, Ilfov, Maramures, Mehedinti, Mures, Neamt, Olt, Prahova, Salaj, Satu Mare, Sibiu, Suceava, Teleorman, Timis, Tulcea, Vaslui, Vilcea, Vrancea


9 May 1877 (independence proclaimed from the Ottoman Empire; independence recognized 13 July 1878 by the Treaty of Berlin); 26 March 1881 (kingdom proclaimed); 30 December 1947 (republic proclaimed)