• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Italy flag
Extra Small animated flag of Italy
Extra Small still Italy flag
Extra Small still flag of Italy
Small animated Italy flag
Small animated flag of Italy
Small still Italy flag
Small still flag of Italy
Medium animated Italy flag
Medium animated flag of Italy
Medium still Italy flag
Medium still flag of Italy
Large animated Italy flag
Large animated flag of Italy
Large still Italy flag
Large still flag of Italy
Extra Large animated Italy flag
Extra Large animated flag of Italy
Extra Large still Italy flag
Extra Large still flag of Italy
Very Big animated Italy flag
Very Big animated flag of Italy
Very Big still Italy flag
Very Big still flag of Italy
Read license terms before copying or using.

Italy flag information

Description flag of Italy

three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), white and red; similar to the flag of Ireland, which is longer and is green (hoist side), white and orange; also similar to the flag of the Cote d'Ivoire, which has the colors reversed - orange (hoist side), white and green; inspired by the French flag brought to Italy by Napoleon in 1797

Related country flags

Related continent flag

Official country name

Italian Republic

Short name


Local names

Repubblica Italiana (long)
Italia (short)

Former name

Kingdom of Italy


Italian(s) (noun) Italia (adjective)

Languages spoken

Italian (official), German (parts of Trentino-Alto Adige region are predominantly German speaking), French (small French-speaking minority in Valle d'Aosta region), Slovene (Slovene-speaking minority in the Trieste-Gorizia area)



Government type



58,145,320 ranked 25, (data 2008)


strategic location dominating central Mediterranean as well as southern sea and air approaches to Western Europe. The lowest point is Mediterranean Sea 0 m.


Coastline 7,600 km.

Land borders

1,899km, Austria 430 km, France 488 km, Holy See (Vatican City) 3.2 km, San Marino 39 km, Slovenia 199 km, Switzerland 740 km.

Administrative divisions

15 regions (regioni, singular - regione) and 5 autonomous regions* (regioni autonome, singular - regione autonoma); Abruzzo, Basilicata, Calabria, Campania, Emilia-Romagna, Friuli-Venezia Giulia*, Lazio (Latium), Liguria, Lombardia, Marche, Molise, Piemonte (Piedmont), Puglia (Apulia), Sardegna* (Sardinia), Sicilia*, Toscana (Tuscany), Trentino-Alto Adige* (Trentino-South Tyrol), Umbria, Valle d'Aosta* (Aosta Valley), Veneto (Venetia)


17 March 1861 (Kingdom of Italy proclaimed; Italy was not finally unified until 1870)