• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Ukraine flag
Extra Small animated flag of Ukraine
Extra Small still Ukraine flag
Extra Small still flag of Ukraine
Small animated Ukraine flag
Small animated flag of Ukraine
Small still Ukraine flag
Small still flag of Ukraine
Medium animated Ukraine flag
Medium animated flag of Ukraine
Medium still Ukraine flag
Medium still flag of Ukraine
Large animated Ukraine flag
Large animated flag of Ukraine
Large still Ukraine flag
Large still flag of Ukraine
Extra Large animated Ukraine flag
Extra Large animated flag of Ukraine
Extra Large still Ukraine flag
Extra Large still flag of Ukraine
Very Big animated Ukraine flag
Very Big animated flag of Ukraine
Very Big still Ukraine flag
Very Big still flag of Ukraine
Read license terms before copying or using.

Ukraine flag information

Description flag of Ukraine

two equal horizontal bands of azure (top) and golden yellow represent grain fields under a blue sky

Related country flags

Short name


Local names

Ukrayina (short)

Former name

Ukrainian National Republic, Ukrainian State, Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic


Ukrainian(s) (noun) Ukrayina (adjective)

Languages spoken

Ukrainian (official) 67%, Russian 24%, other 9% (includes small Romanian-, Polish-, and Hungarian-speaking minorities)


Kyiv (Kiev)

Government type



45,994,288 ranked 29, (data 2008)


strategic position at the crossroads between Europe and Asia; second-largest country in Europe. The lowest point is Black Sea 0 m.


Coastline 2,782 km.

Land borders

4,566km, Belarus 891 km, Hungary 103 km, Moldova 940 km, Poland 428 km, Romania (south) 176 km, Romania (southwest) 362 km, Russia 1,576 km, Slovakia 90 km.

Administrative divisions

24 provinces (oblasti, singular - oblast'), 1 autonomous republic* (avtonomna respublika), and 2 municipalities (mista, singular - misto) with oblast status**; Cherkasy, Chernihiv, Chernivtsi, Crimea or Avtonomna Respublika Krym* (Simferopol'), Dnipropetrovs'k, Donets'k, Ivano-Frankivs'k, Kharkiv, Kherson, Khmel'nyts'kyy, Kirovohrad, Kyiv**, Kyiv, Luhans'k, L'viv, Mykolayiv, Odesa, Poltava, Rivne, Sevastopol'**, Sumy, Ternopil', Vinnytsya, Volyn' (Luts'k), Zakarpattya (Uzhhorod), Zaporizhzhya, Zhytomyr
administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)


24 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)