• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Pakistan flag
Extra Small animated flag of Pakistan
Extra Small still Pakistan flag
Extra Small still flag of Pakistan
Small animated Pakistan flag
Small animated flag of Pakistan
Small still Pakistan flag
Small still flag of Pakistan
Medium animated Pakistan flag
Medium animated flag of Pakistan
Medium still Pakistan flag
Medium still flag of Pakistan
Large animated Pakistan flag
Large animated flag of Pakistan
Large still Pakistan flag
Large still flag of Pakistan
Extra Large animated Pakistan flag
Extra Large animated flag of Pakistan
Extra Large still Pakistan flag
Extra Large still flag of Pakistan
Very Big animated Pakistan flag
Very Big animated flag of Pakistan
Very Big still Pakistan flag
Very Big still flag of Pakistan
Read license terms before copying or using.

Pakistan flag information

Description flag of Pakistan

green with a vertical white band (symbolizing the role of religious minorities) on the hoist side; a large white crescent and star are centered in the green field; the crescent, star, and color green are traditional symbols of Islam

Related country flags

Official country name

Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Short name


Local names

Jamhuryat Islami Pakistan (long)
Pakistan (short)

Former name

West Pakistan


Pakistani(s) (noun) Pakistan (adjective)

Languages spoken

Punjabi 48%, Sindhi 12%, Siraiki (a Punjabi variant) 10%, Pashtu 8%, Urdu (official) 8%, Balochi 3%, Hindko 2%, Brahui 1%, English (official; lingua franca of Pakistani elite and most government ministries), Burushaski and other 8%



Government type

federal republic


172,800,048 ranked 8, (data 2008)


controls Khyber Pass and Bolan Pass, traditional invasion routes between Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The lowest point is Indian Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 1,046 km.

Land borders

6,774km, Afghanistan 2,430 km, China 523 km, India 2,912 km, Iran 909 km.

Administrative divisions

4 provinces, 1 territory*, and 1 capital territory**; Balochistan, Federally Administered Tribal Areas*, Islamabad Capital Territory**, North-West Frontier Province, Punjab, Sindh
the Pakistani-administered portion of the disputed Jammu and Kashmir region consists of two administrative entities: Azad Kashmir and Northern Areas


14 August 1947 (from British India)