• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Nepal flag
Extra Small animated flag of Nepal
Extra Small still Nepal flag
Extra Small still flag of Nepal
Small animated Nepal flag
Small animated flag of Nepal
Small still Nepal flag
Small still flag of Nepal
Medium animated Nepal flag
Medium animated flag of Nepal
Medium still Nepal flag
Medium still flag of Nepal
Large animated Nepal flag
Large animated flag of Nepal
Large still Nepal flag
Large still flag of Nepal
Extra Large animated Nepal flag
Extra Large animated flag of Nepal
Extra Large still Nepal flag
Extra Large still flag of Nepal
Very Big animated Nepal flag
Very Big animated flag of Nepal
Very Big still Nepal flag
Very Big still flag of Nepal
Read license terms before copying or using.

Nepal flag information

Description flag of Nepal

red with a blue border around the unique shape of two overlapping right triangles; the smaller, upper triangle bears a white stylized moon and the larger, lower triangle bears a white 12-pointed sun

Related country flags

Official country name

Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal

Short name


Local names

Sanghiya Loktantrik Ganatantra Nepal (long)
Nepal (short)


Nepalese (singular and plural) (noun) Nepal (adjective)

Languages spoken

Nepali 47.8%, Maithali 12.1%, Bhojpuri 7.4%, Tharu (Dagaura/Rana) 5.8%, Tamang 5.1%, Newar 3.6%, Magar 3.3%, Awadhi 2.4%, other 10%, unspecified 2.5% (2001 census)


many in government and business also speak English (2001 est.)



Government type

federal democratic republic


29,519,114 ranked 42, (data 2008)


strategic location between China and India; contains eight of world's 10 highest peaks, including Mount Everest and Kanchenjunga - the world's tallest and third tallest - on the borders with China and India respectively. The lowest point is Kanchan Kalan 70 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

2,926km, China 1,236 km, India 1,690 km.

Administrative divisions

14 zones (anchal, singular and plural); Bagmati, Bheri, Dhawalagiri, Gandaki, Janakpur, Karnali, Kosi, Lumbini, Mahakali, Mechi, Narayani, Rapti, Sagarmatha, Seti


1768 (unified by Prithvi Narayan SHAH)