• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Kyrgyzstan flag
Extra Small animated flag of Kyrgyzstan
Extra Small still Kyrgyzstan flag
Extra Small still flag of Kyrgyzstan
Small animated Kyrgyzstan flag
Small animated flag of Kyrgyzstan
Small still Kyrgyzstan flag
Small still flag of Kyrgyzstan
Medium animated Kyrgyzstan flag
Medium animated flag of Kyrgyzstan
Medium still Kyrgyzstan flag
Medium still flag of Kyrgyzstan
Large animated Kyrgyzstan flag
Large animated flag of Kyrgyzstan
Large still Kyrgyzstan flag
Large still flag of Kyrgyzstan
Extra Large animated Kyrgyzstan flag
Extra Large animated flag of Kyrgyzstan
Extra Large still Kyrgyzstan flag
Extra Large still flag of Kyrgyzstan
Very Big animated Kyrgyzstan flag
Very Big animated flag of Kyrgyzstan
Very Big still Kyrgyzstan flag
Very Big still flag of Kyrgyzstan
Read license terms before copying or using.

Kyrgyzstan flag information

Description flag of Kyrgyzstan

red field with a yellow sun in the center having 40 rays representing the 40 Kyrgyz tribes; on the obverse side the rays run counterclockwise, on the reverse, clockwise; in the center of the sun is a red ring crossed by two sets of three lines, a stylized representation of the roof of the traditional Kyrgyz yurt

Related country flags

Official country name

Kyrgyz Republic

Short name


Local names

Kyrgyz Respublikasy (long)
Kyrgyzstan (short)

Former name

Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republic


Kyrgyzstani(s) (noun) Kyrgyzstan (adjective)

Languages spoken

Kyrgyz 64.7% (official), Uzbek 13.6%, Russian 12.5% (official), Dungun 1%, other 8.2% (1999 census)



Government type



5,356,869 ranked 114, (data 2008)


entirely mountainous, dominated by the Tien Shan range; many tall peaks, glaciers, and high-altitude lakes. The lowest point is Kara-Daryya (Karadar'ya) 132 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

3,051km, China 858 km, Kazakhstan 1,224 km, Tajikistan 870 km, Uzbekistan 1,099 km.

Administrative divisions

7 provinces (oblastlar, singular - oblasty) and 1 city* (shaar); Batken Oblasty, Bishkek Shaary*, Chuy Oblasty (Bishkek), Jalal-Abad Oblasty, Naryn Oblasty, Osh Oblasty, Talas Oblasty, Ysyk-Kol Oblasty (Karakol)
administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)


31 August 1991 (from Soviet Union)