• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Kazakhstan flag
Extra Small animated flag of Kazakhstan
Extra Small still Kazakhstan flag
Extra Small still flag of Kazakhstan
Small animated Kazakhstan flag
Small animated flag of Kazakhstan
Small still Kazakhstan flag
Small still flag of Kazakhstan
Medium animated Kazakhstan flag
Medium animated flag of Kazakhstan
Medium still Kazakhstan flag
Medium still flag of Kazakhstan
Large animated Kazakhstan flag
Large animated flag of Kazakhstan
Large still Kazakhstan flag
Large still flag of Kazakhstan
Extra Large animated Kazakhstan flag
Extra Large animated flag of Kazakhstan
Extra Large still Kazakhstan flag
Extra Large still flag of Kazakhstan
Very Big animated Kazakhstan flag
Very Big animated flag of Kazakhstan
Very Big still Kazakhstan flag
Very Big still flag of Kazakhstan
Read license terms before copying or using.

Kazakhstan flag information

Description flag of Kazakhstan

sky blue background representing the endless sky and a gold sun with 32 rays above a soaring golden steppe eagle in the center; on the hoist side is a ""national ornamentation"" in gold

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Kazakhstan

Short name


Local names

Qazaqstan Respublikasy (long)
Qazaqstan (short)

Former name

Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic


Kazakhstani(s) (noun) Qazaqstan (adjective)

Languages spoken

Kazakh (Qazaq, state language) 64.4%, Russian (official, used in everyday business, designated the ""language of interethnic communication"") 95% (2001 est.)



Government type

republic; authoritarian presidential rule, with little power outside the executive branch


15,340,533 ranked 63, (data 2008)


Russia leases approximately 6,000 sq km of territory enclosing the Baykonur Cosmodrome; in January 2004, Kazakhstan and Russia extended the lease to 2050. The lowest point is Vpadina Kaundy -132 m.


Coastline 0 km. Kazakhstan borders the Aral Sea, now split into two bodies of water (1,070 km), and the Caspian Sea (1,894 km)

Land borders

12,185km, China 1,533 km, Kyrgyzstan 1,224 km, Russia 6,846 km, Turkmenistan 379 km, Uzbekistan 2,203 km.

Administrative divisions

14 provinces (oblystar, singular - oblys) and 3 cities* (qalalar, singular - qala); Almaty Oblysy, Almaty Qalasy*, Aqmola Oblysy (Astana), Aqtobe Oblysy, Astana Qalasy*, Atyrau Oblysy, Batys Qazaqstan Oblysy (Oral), Bayqongyr Qalasy*, Mangghystau Oblysy (Aqtau), Ongtustik Qazaqstan Oblysy (Shymkent), Pavlodar Oblysy, Qaraghandy Oblysy, Qostanay Oblysy, Qyzylorda Oblysy, Shyghys Qazaqstan Oblysy (Oskemen), Soltustik Qazaqstan Oblysy (Petropavlovsk), Zhambyl Oblysy (Taraz)
administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses); in 1995, the Governments of Kazakhstan and Russia entered into an agreement whereby Russia would lease for a period of 20 years an area of 6,000 sq km enclosing the Baykonur space launch facilities and the city of Bayqongyr (Baykonur, formerly Leninsk); in 2004, a new agreement extended the lease to 2050


16 December 1991 (from Soviet Union)