• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated China flag
Extra Small animated flag of China
Extra Small still China flag
Extra Small still flag of China
Small animated China flag
Small animated flag of China
Small still China flag
Small still flag of China
Medium animated China flag
Medium animated flag of China
Medium still China flag
Medium still flag of China
Large animated China flag
Large animated flag of China
Large still China flag
Large still flag of China
Extra Large animated China flag
Extra Large animated flag of China
Extra Large still China flag
Extra Large still flag of China
Very Big animated China flag
Very Big animated flag of China
Very Big still China flag
Very Big still flag of China
Read license terms before copying or using.

China flag information

Description flag of China

red with a large yellow five-pointed star and four smaller yellow five-pointed stars (arranged in a vertical arc toward the middle of the flag) in the upper hoist-side corner

Related country flags

Official country name

People's Republic of China

Short name


Local names

Zhonghua Renmin Gongheguo (long)
Zhongguo (short)




Chinese (singular and plural) (noun) Zhongguo (adjective)

Languages spoken

Standard Chinese or Mandarin (Putonghua, based on the Beijing dialect), Yue (Cantonese), Wu (Shanghainese), Minbei (Fuzhou), Minnan (Hokkien-Taiwanese), Xiang, Gan, Hakka dialects, minority languages (see Ethnic groups entry)



Government type

Communist state


1,330,044,544 ranked 2, (data 2008)


world's fourth largest country (after Russia, Canada, and US); Mount Everest on the border with Nepal is the world's tallest peak. The lowest point is Turpan Pendi -154 m.


Coastline 14,500 km.

Land borders

22,117km, Afghanistan 76 km, Bhutan 470 km, Burma 2,185 km, India 3,380 km, Kazakhstan 1,533 km, North Korea 1,416 km, Kyrgyzstan 858 km, Laos 423 km, Mongolia 4,677 km, Nepal 1,236 km, Pakistan 523 km, Russia (northeast) 3,605 km, Russia (northwest) 40 km, Tajikistan 414 km, Vietnam 1,281 km.

Administrative divisions

23 provinces (sheng, singular and plural), 5 autonomous regions (zizhiqu, singular and plural), and 4 municipalities (shi, singular and plural)
provinces: Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, Zhejiang; (see note on Taiwan); autonomous regions: Guangxi, Nei Mongol, Ningxia, Xinjiang Uygur, Xizang (Tibet); municipalities: Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai, Tianjin
China considers Taiwan its 23rd province; see separate entries for the special administrative regions of Hong Kong and Macau


221 BC (unification under the Qin or Ch'in Dynasty); 1 January 1912 (Qing or Ch'ing Dynasty replaced by the Republic of China); 1 October 1949 (People's Republic of China established)