• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Turkmenistan flag
Extra Small animated flag of Turkmenistan
Extra Small still Turkmenistan flag
Extra Small still flag of Turkmenistan
Small animated Turkmenistan flag
Small animated flag of Turkmenistan
Small still Turkmenistan flag
Small still flag of Turkmenistan
Medium animated Turkmenistan flag
Medium animated flag of Turkmenistan
Medium still Turkmenistan flag
Medium still flag of Turkmenistan
Large animated Turkmenistan flag
Large animated flag of Turkmenistan
Large still Turkmenistan flag
Large still flag of Turkmenistan
Extra Large animated Turkmenistan flag
Extra Large animated flag of Turkmenistan
Extra Large still Turkmenistan flag
Extra Large still flag of Turkmenistan
Very Big animated Turkmenistan flag
Very Big animated flag of Turkmenistan
Very Big still Turkmenistan flag
Very Big still flag of Turkmenistan
Read license terms before copying or using.

Turkmenistan flag information

Description flag of Turkmenistan

green field with a vertical red stripe near the hoist side, containing five tribal guls (designs used in producing carpets) stacked above two crossed olive branches; a white crescent moon representing Islam with five white stars representing the regions or welayats of Turkmenistan appear in the upper corner of the field just to the fly side of the red stripe

Related country flags

Short name


Local names

Turkmenistan (short)

Former name

Turkmen Soviet Socialist Republic


Turkmen(s) (noun) Turkmenistan (adjective)

Languages spoken

Turkmen 72%, Russian 12%, Uzbek 9%, other 7%


Ashgabat (Ashkhabad)

Government type

republic; authoritarian presidential rule, with little power outside the executive branch


5,179,571 ranked 116, (data 2008)


the western and central low-lying desolate portions of the country make up the great Garagum (Kara-Kum) desert, which occupies over 80% of the country; eastern part is plateau. The lowest point is Vpadina Akchanaya -81 m.


Coastline 0 km. Turkmenistan borders the Caspian Sea (1,768 km)

Land borders

3,736km, Afghanistan 744 km, Iran 992 km, Kazakhstan 379 km, Uzbekistan 1,621 km.

Administrative divisions

5 provinces (welayatlar, singular - welayat) and 1 independent city*: Ahal Welayaty (Anew), Ashgabat*, Balkan Welayaty (Balkanabat), Dashoguz Welayaty, Lebap Welayaty (Turkmenabat), Mary Welayaty
administrative divisions have the same names as their administrative centers (exceptions have the administrative center name following in parentheses)


27 October 1991 (from Soviet Union)