• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Bhutan flag
Extra Small animated flag of Bhutan
Extra Small still Bhutan flag
Extra Small still flag of Bhutan
Small animated Bhutan flag
Small animated flag of Bhutan
Small still Bhutan flag
Small still flag of Bhutan
Medium animated Bhutan flag
Medium animated flag of Bhutan
Medium still Bhutan flag
Medium still flag of Bhutan
Large animated Bhutan flag
Large animated flag of Bhutan
Large still Bhutan flag
Large still flag of Bhutan
Extra Large animated Bhutan flag
Extra Large animated flag of Bhutan
Extra Large still Bhutan flag
Extra Large still flag of Bhutan
Very Big animated Bhutan flag
Very Big animated flag of Bhutan
Very Big still Bhutan flag
Very Big still flag of Bhutan
Read license terms before copying or using.

Bhutan flag information

Description flag of Bhutan

divided diagonally from the lower hoist-side corner; the upper triangle is yellow and the lower triangle is orange; centered along the dividing line is a large black and white dragon facing away from the hoist side

Related country flags

Official country name

Kingdom of Bhutan

Short name


Local names

Druk Gyalkhap (long)
Druk Yul (short)


Bhutanese (singular and plural) (noun) Druk Yul (adjective)

Languages spoken

Dzongkha (official), Bhotes speak various Tibetan dialects, Nepalese speak various Nepalese dialects



Government type

in transition to constitutional monarchy; special treaty relationship with India


682,321 ranked 165, (data 2008)


strategic location between China and India; controls several key Himalayan mountain passes. The lowest point is Drangme Chhu 97 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

1,075km, China 470 km, India 605 km.

Administrative divisions

20 districts (dzongkhag, singular and plural); Bumthang, Chhukha, Chirang, Daga, Gasa, Geylegphug, Ha, Lhuntshi, Mongar, Paro, Pemagatsel, Punakha, Samchi, Samdrup Jongkhar, Shemgang, Tashigang, Tashi Yangtse, Thimphu, Tongsa, Wangdi Phodrang


1907 (became a unified kingdom under its first hereditary king)