• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Georgia flag
Extra Small animated flag of Georgia
Extra Small still Georgia flag
Extra Small still flag of Georgia
Small animated Georgia flag
Small animated flag of Georgia
Small still Georgia flag
Small still flag of Georgia
Medium animated Georgia flag
Medium animated flag of Georgia
Medium still Georgia flag
Medium still flag of Georgia
Large animated Georgia flag
Large animated flag of Georgia
Large still Georgia flag
Large still flag of Georgia
Extra Large animated Georgia flag
Extra Large animated flag of Georgia
Extra Large still Georgia flag
Extra Large still flag of Georgia
Very Big animated Georgia flag
Very Big animated flag of Georgia
Very Big still Georgia flag
Very Big still flag of Georgia
Read license terms before copying or using.

Georgia flag information

Description flag of Georgia

white rectangle, in its central portion a red cross connecting all four sides of the flag; in each of the four corners is a small red bolnur-katskhuri cross; the five-cross flag appears to date back to the 14th century

Related country flags

Short name


Local names

Sak'art'velo (short)

Former name

Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic


Georgian(s) (noun) Sak'art'velo (adjective)

Languages spoken

Georgian 71% (official), Russian 9%, Armenian 7%, Azeri 6%, other 7%


Abkhaz is the official language in Abkhazia



Government type



4,630,841 ranked 118, (data 2008)


strategically located east of the Black Sea; Georgia controls much of the Caucasus Mountains and the routes through them. The lowest point is Black Sea 0 m.


Coastline 310 km.

Land borders

1,461km, Armenia 164 km, Azerbaijan 322 km, Russia 723 km, Turkey 252 km.

Administrative divisions

9 regions (mkharebi, singular - mkhare), 1 city (k'alak'i), and 2 autonomous republics (avtomnoy respubliki, singular - avtom respublika)
regions: Guria, Imereti, Kakheti, Kvemo Kartli, Mtskheta-Mtianeti, Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti, Samegrelo and Zemo Svaneti, Samtskhe-Javakheti, Shida Kartli; city: Tbilisi; autonomous republics: Abkhazia or Ap'khazet'is Avtonomiuri Respublika (Sokhumi), Ajaria or Acharis Avtonomiuri Respublika (Bat'umi)
the administrative centers of the two autonomous republics are shown in parentheses


9 April 1991 (from Soviet Union)