• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Afghanistan flag
Extra Small animated flag of Afghanistan
Extra Small still Afghanistan flag
Extra Small still flag of Afghanistan
Small animated Afghanistan flag
Small animated flag of Afghanistan
Small still Afghanistan flag
Small still flag of Afghanistan
Medium animated Afghanistan flag
Medium animated flag of Afghanistan
Medium still Afghanistan flag
Medium still flag of Afghanistan
Large animated Afghanistan flag
Large animated flag of Afghanistan
Large still Afghanistan flag
Large still flag of Afghanistan
Extra Large animated Afghanistan flag
Extra Large animated flag of Afghanistan
Extra Large still Afghanistan flag
Extra Large still flag of Afghanistan
Very Big animated Afghanistan flag
Very Big animated flag of Afghanistan
Very Big still Afghanistan flag
Very Big still flag of Afghanistan
Read license terms before copying or using.

Afghanistan flag information

Description flag of Afghanistan

three equal vertical bands of black (hoist side), red and green with the national emblem in white centered on the red band and slightly overlapping the other two bands; the center of the emblem features a mosque with pulpit and flags on either side, below the mosque are numerals for the solar year 1298 (1919 in the Gregorian calendar, the year of Afghan independence from the UK); this central image is circled by a border consisting of sheaves of wheat on the left and right, in the upper-center is an Arabic inscription of the Shahada (Muslim creed) below which are rays of the rising sun over the Takbir (Arabic expression meaning ""God is great""), and at bottom center is a scroll bearing the name Afghanistan

Related country flags

Official country name

Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Short name


Local names

Jomhuri-ye Eslami-ye Afghanestan (long)
Afghanestan (short)

Former name

Republic of Afghanistan


Afghan(s) (noun) Afghanestan (adjective)

Languages spoken

Afghan Persian or Dari (official) 50%, Pashto (official) 35%, Turkic languages (primarily Uzbek and Turkmen) 11%, 30 minor languages (primarily Balochi and Pashai) 4%, much bilingualism



Government type

Islamic republic


32,738,376 ranked 40, (data 2008)


the Hindu Kush mountains that run northeast to southwest divide the northern provinces from the rest of the country; the highest peaks are in the northern Vakhan (Wakhan Corridor). The lowest point is Amu Darya 258 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

5,529km, China 76 km, Iran 936 km, Pakistan 2,430 km, Tajikistan 1,206 km, Turkmenistan 744 km, Uzbekistan 137 km.

Administrative divisions

34 provinces (welayat, singular - welayat); Badakhshan, Badghis, Baghlan, Balkh, Bamyan, Daykundi, Farah, Faryab, Ghazni, Ghor, Helmand, Herat, Jowzjan, Kabul, Kandahar, Kapisa, Khost, Kunar, Kunduz, Laghman, Logar, Nangarhar, Nimroz, Nuristan, Paktika, Paktiya, Panjshir, Parwan, Samangan, Sar-e Pul, Takhar, Uruzgan, Wardak, Zabul


19 August 1919 (from UK control over Afghan foreign affairs)