• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Tanzania flag
Extra Small animated flag of Tanzania
Extra Small still Tanzania flag
Extra Small still flag of Tanzania
Small animated Tanzania flag
Small animated flag of Tanzania
Small still Tanzania flag
Small still flag of Tanzania
Medium animated Tanzania flag
Medium animated flag of Tanzania
Medium still Tanzania flag
Medium still flag of Tanzania
Large animated Tanzania flag
Large animated flag of Tanzania
Large still Tanzania flag
Large still flag of Tanzania
Extra Large animated Tanzania flag
Extra Large animated flag of Tanzania
Extra Large still Tanzania flag
Extra Large still flag of Tanzania
Very Big animated Tanzania flag
Very Big animated flag of Tanzania
Very Big still Tanzania flag
Very Big still flag of Tanzania
Read license terms before copying or using.

Tanzania flag information

Description flag of Tanzania

divided diagonally by a yellow-edged black band from the lower hoist-side corner; the upper triangle (hoist side) is green and the lower triangle is blue

Related country flags

Official country name

United Republic of Tanzania

Short name


Local names

Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania (long)
Tanzania (short)

Former name

United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar


Tanzanian(s) (noun) Tanzania (adjective)

Languages spoken

Kiswahili or Swahili (official), Kiunguja (name for Swahili in Zanzibar), English (official, primary language of commerce, administration, and higher education), Arabic (widely spoken in Zanzibar), many local languages


Kiswahili (Swahili) is the mother tongue of the Bantu people living in Zanzibar and nearby coastal Tanzania; although Kiswahili is Bantu in structure and origin, its vocabulary draws on a variety of sources including Arabic and English; it has become the lingua franca of central and eastern Africa; the first language of most people is one of the local languages


Dar es Salaam

Government type



40,213,160 ranked 34, (data 2008)


Kilimanjaro is highest point in Africa; bordered by three of the largest lakes on the continent: Lake Victoria (the world's second-largest freshwater lake) in the north, Lake Tanganyika (the world's second deepest) in the west, and Lake Nyasa in the southwest. The lowest point is Indian Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 1,424 km.

Land borders

3,861km, Burundi 451 km, Democratic Republic of the Congo 459 km, Kenya 769 km, Malawi 475 km, Mozambique 756 km, Rwanda 217 km, Uganda 396 km, Zambia 338 km.

Administrative divisions

26 regions; Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Iringa, Kagera, Kigoma, Kilimanjaro, Lindi, Manyara, Mara, Mbeya, Morogoro, Mtwara, Mwanza, Pemba North, Pemba South, Pwani, Rukwa, Ruvuma, Shinyanga, Singida, Tabora, Tanga, Zanzibar Central/South, Zanzibar North, Zanzibar Urban/West


26 April 1964; Tanganyika became independent 9 December 1961 (from UK-administered UN trusteeship); Zanzibar became independent 19 December 1963 (from UK); Tanganyika united with Zanzibar 26 April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar; renamed United Republic of Tanzania 29 October 1964