• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Rwanda flag
Extra Small animated flag of Rwanda
Extra Small still Rwanda flag
Extra Small still flag of Rwanda
Small animated Rwanda flag
Small animated flag of Rwanda
Small still Rwanda flag
Small still flag of Rwanda
Medium animated Rwanda flag
Medium animated flag of Rwanda
Medium still Rwanda flag
Medium still flag of Rwanda
Large animated Rwanda flag
Large animated flag of Rwanda
Large still Rwanda flag
Large still flag of Rwanda
Extra Large animated Rwanda flag
Extra Large animated flag of Rwanda
Extra Large still Rwanda flag
Extra Large still flag of Rwanda
Very Big animated Rwanda flag
Very Big animated flag of Rwanda
Very Big still Rwanda flag
Very Big still flag of Rwanda
Read license terms before copying or using.

Rwanda flag information

Description flag of Rwanda

three horizontal bands of sky blue (top, double width), yellow and green with a golden sun with 24 rays near the fly end of the blue band

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Rwanda

Short name


Local names

Republika y'u Rwanda (long)
Rwanda (short)

Former name

Ruanda, German East Africa


Rwandan(s) (noun) Rwanda (adjective)

Languages spoken

Kinyarwanda (official) universal Bantu vernacular, French (official), English (official), Kiswahili (Swahili) used in commercial centers



Government type

republic; presidential, multiparty system


10,186,063 ranked 81, (data 2008)


most of the country is savanna grassland with the population predominantly rural. The lowest point is Rusizi River 950 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

893km, Burundi 290 km, Democratic Republic of the Congo 217 km, Tanzania 217 km, Uganda 169 km.

Administrative divisions

4 provinces (in French - provinces, singular - province; in Kinyarwanda - intara for singular and plural) and 1 city* (in French - ville; in Kinyarwanda - umujyi); Est (Eastern), Kigali*, Nord (Northern), Ouest (Western), Sud (Southern)


1 July 1962 (from Belgium-administered UN trusteeship)