• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Namibia flag
Extra Small animated flag of Namibia
Extra Small still Namibia flag
Extra Small still flag of Namibia
Small animated Namibia flag
Small animated flag of Namibia
Small still Namibia flag
Small still flag of Namibia
Medium animated Namibia flag
Medium animated flag of Namibia
Medium still Namibia flag
Medium still flag of Namibia
Large animated Namibia flag
Large animated flag of Namibia
Large still Namibia flag
Large still flag of Namibia
Extra Large animated Namibia flag
Extra Large animated flag of Namibia
Extra Large still Namibia flag
Extra Large still flag of Namibia
Very Big animated Namibia flag
Very Big animated flag of Namibia
Very Big still Namibia flag
Very Big still flag of Namibia
Read license terms before copying or using.

Namibia flag information

Description flag of Namibia

a wide red stripe edged by narrow white stripes divides the flag diagonally from lower hoist corner to upper fly corner; the upper hoist-side triangle is blue and charged with a yellow 12-rayed sunburst; the lower fly-side triangle is green

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Namibia

Short name


Local names

Republic of Namibia (long)
Namibia (short)

Former name

German Southwest Africa, South-West Africa


Namibian(s) (noun) Namibia (adjective)

Languages spoken

English 7% (official), Afrikaans common language of most of the population and about 60% of the white population, German 32%, indigenous languages 1% (includes Oshivambo, Herero, Nama)



Government type



2,088,669 ranked 146, (data 2008)


first country in the world to incorporate the protection of the environment into its constitution; some 14% of the land is protected, including virtually the entire Namib Desert coastal strip. The lowest point is Atlantic Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 1,572 km.

Land borders

3,936km, Angola 1,376 km, Botswana 1,360 km, South Africa 967 km, Zambia 233 km.

Administrative divisions

13 regions; Caprivi, Erongo, Hardap, Karas, Khomas, Kunene, Ohangwena, Okavango, Omaheke, Omusati, Oshana, Oshikoto, Otjozondjupa


21 March 1990 (from South African mandate)