• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Egypt flag
Extra Small animated flag of Egypt
Extra Small still Egypt flag
Extra Small still flag of Egypt
Small animated Egypt flag
Small animated flag of Egypt
Small still Egypt flag
Small still flag of Egypt
Medium animated Egypt flag
Medium animated flag of Egypt
Medium still Egypt flag
Medium still flag of Egypt
Large animated Egypt flag
Large animated flag of Egypt
Large still Egypt flag
Large still flag of Egypt
Extra Large animated Egypt flag
Extra Large animated flag of Egypt
Extra Large still Egypt flag
Extra Large still flag of Egypt
Very Big animated Egypt flag
Very Big animated flag of Egypt
Very Big still Egypt flag
Very Big still flag of Egypt
Read license terms before copying or using.

Egypt flag information

Description flag of Egypt

three equal horizontal bands of red (top), white and black; the national emblem (a gold Eagle of Saladin facing the hoist side with a shield superimposed on its chest above a scroll bearing the name of the country in Arabic) centered in the white band; design is based on the Arab Liberation flag and similar to the flag of Syria, which has two green stars in the white band, Iraq, which has an Arabic inscription centered in the white band, and Yemen, which has a plain white band

Related country flags

Official country name

Arab Republic of Egypt

Short name


Local names

Jumhuriyat Misr al-Arabiyah (long)
Misr (short)

Former name

United Arab Republic (with Syria)


Egyptian(s) (noun) Misr (adjective)

Languages spoken

Arabic (official), English and French widely understood by educated classes



Government type



81,713,520 ranked 18, (data 2008)


controls Sinai Peninsula, only land bridge between Africa and remainder of Eastern Hemisphere; controls Suez Canal, a sea link between Indian Ocean and Mediterranean Sea; size, and juxtaposition to Israel, establish its major role in Middle Eastern geopolitics; dependence on upstream neighbors; dominance of Nile basin issues; prone to influxes of refugees. The lowest point is Qattara Depression -133 m.


Coastline 2,450 km.

Land borders

2,665km, Gaza Strip 11 km, Israel 266 km, Libya 1,115 km, Sudan 1,273 km.

Administrative divisions

26 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah); Ad Daqahliyah, Al Bahr al Ahmar (Red Sea), Al Buhayrah (El Beheira), Al Fayyum (El Faiyum), Al Gharbiyah, Al Iskandariyah (Alexandria), Al Isma'iliyah (Ismailia), Al Jizah (Giza), Al Minufiyah (El Monofia), Al Minya, Al Qahirah (Cairo), Al Qalyubiyah, Al Wadi al Jadid (New Valley), As Suways (Suez), Ash Sharqiyah, Aswan, Asyut, Bani Suwayf (Beni Suef), Bur Sa'id (Port Said), Dumyat (Damietta), Janub Sina' (South Sinai), Kafr ash Shaykh, Matruh (Western Desert), Qina (Qena), Shamal Sina' (North Sinai), Suhaj (Sohag)


28 February 1922 (from UK)