• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Burundi flag
Extra Small animated flag of Burundi
Extra Small still Burundi flag
Extra Small still flag of Burundi
Small animated Burundi flag
Small animated flag of Burundi
Small still Burundi flag
Small still flag of Burundi
Medium animated Burundi flag
Medium animated flag of Burundi
Medium still Burundi flag
Medium still flag of Burundi
Large animated Burundi flag
Large animated flag of Burundi
Large still Burundi flag
Large still flag of Burundi
Extra Large animated Burundi flag
Extra Large animated flag of Burundi
Extra Large still Burundi flag
Extra Large still flag of Burundi
Very Big animated Burundi flag
Very Big animated flag of Burundi
Very Big still Burundi flag
Very Big still flag of Burundi
Read license terms before copying or using.

Burundi flag information

Description flag of Burundi

divided by a white diagonal cross into red panels (top and bottom) and green panels (hoist side and fly side) with a white disk superimposed at the center bearing three red six-pointed stars outlined in green arranged in a triangular design (one star above, two stars below)

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Burundi

Short name


Local names

Republique du Burundi/Republika y'u Burundi (long)
Burundi (short)

Former name



Burundian(s) (noun) Burundi (adjective)

Languages spoken

Kirundi (official), French (official), Swahili (along Lake Tanganyika and in the Bujumbura area)



Government type



8,691,005 ranked 92, (data 2008)


straddles crest of the Nile-Congo watershed; the Kagera, which drains into Lake Victoria, is the most remote headstream of the White Nile. The lowest point is Lake Tanganyika 772 m.


Coastline 0 km.

Land borders

974km, Democratic Republic of the Congo 233 km, Rwanda 290 km, Tanzania 451 km.

Administrative divisions

17 provinces; Bubanza, Bujumbura Mairie, Bujumbura Rurale, Bururi, Cankuzo, Cibitoke, Gitega, Karuzi, Kayanza, Kirundo, Makamba, Muramvya, Muyinga, Mwaro, Ngozi, Rutana, Ruyigi


1 July 1962 (from UN trusteeship under Belgian administration)