• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Mozambique flag
Extra Small animated flag of Mozambique
Extra Small still Mozambique flag
Extra Small still flag of Mozambique
Small animated Mozambique flag
Small animated flag of Mozambique
Small still Mozambique flag
Small still flag of Mozambique
Medium animated Mozambique flag
Medium animated flag of Mozambique
Medium still Mozambique flag
Medium still flag of Mozambique
Large animated Mozambique flag
Large animated flag of Mozambique
Large still Mozambique flag
Large still flag of Mozambique
Extra Large animated Mozambique flag
Extra Large animated flag of Mozambique
Extra Large still Mozambique flag
Extra Large still flag of Mozambique
Very Big animated Mozambique flag
Very Big animated flag of Mozambique
Very Big still Mozambique flag
Very Big still flag of Mozambique
Read license terms before copying or using.

Mozambique flag information

Description flag of Mozambique

three equal horizontal bands of green (top), black, and yellow with a red isosceles triangle based on the hoist side; the black band is edged in white; centered in the triangle is a yellow five-pointed star bearing a crossed rifle and hoe in black superimposed on an open white book

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Mozambique

Short name


Local names

Republica de Mocambique (long)
Mocambique (short)

Former name

Portuguese East Africa


Mozambican(s) (noun) Mocambique (adjective)

Languages spoken

Emakhuwa 26.1%, Xichangana 11.3%, Portuguese 8.8% (official; spoken by 27% of population as a second language), Elomwe 7.6%, Cisena 6.8%, Echuwabo 5.8%, other Mozambican languages 32%, other foreign languages 0.3%, unspecified 1.3% (1997 census)



Government type



21,284,700 ranked 54, (data 2008)


the Zambezi flows through the north-central and most fertile part of the country. The lowest point is Indian Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 2,470 km.

Land borders

4,571km, Malawi 1,569 km, South Africa 491 km, Swaziland 105 km, Tanzania 756 km, Zambia 419 km, Zimbabwe 1,231 km.

Administrative divisions

10 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia), 1 city (cidade)*; Cabo Delgado, Gaza, Inhambane, Manica, Maputo, Cidade de Maputo*, Nampula, Niassa, Sofala, Tete, Zambezia


25 June 1975 (from Portugal)