• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Cameroon flag
Extra Small animated flag of Cameroon
Extra Small still Cameroon flag
Extra Small still flag of Cameroon
Small animated Cameroon flag
Small animated flag of Cameroon
Small still Cameroon flag
Small still flag of Cameroon
Medium animated Cameroon flag
Medium animated flag of Cameroon
Medium still Cameroon flag
Medium still flag of Cameroon
Large animated Cameroon flag
Large animated flag of Cameroon
Large still Cameroon flag
Large still flag of Cameroon
Extra Large animated Cameroon flag
Extra Large animated flag of Cameroon
Extra Large still Cameroon flag
Extra Large still flag of Cameroon
Very Big animated Cameroon flag
Very Big animated flag of Cameroon
Very Big still Cameroon flag
Very Big still flag of Cameroon
Read license terms before copying or using.

Cameroon flag information

Description flag of Cameroon

three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), red and yellow with a yellow five-pointed star centered in the red band

Flag notes

uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Cameroon

Short name


Local names

Republique du Cameroun/Republic of Cameroon (long)
Cameroun/Cameroon (short)

Former name

French Cameroon, British Cameroon, Federal Republic of Cameroon, United Republic of Cameroon


Cameroonian(s) (noun) Cameroun/Cameroon (adjective)

Languages spoken

24 major African language groups, English (official), French (official)



Government type

republic; multiparty presidential regime


18,467,692 ranked 60, (data 2008)


sometimes referred to as the hinge of Africa; throughout the country there are areas of thermal springs and indications of current or prior volcanic activity; Mount Cameroon, the highest mountain in Sub-Saharan west Africa, is an active volcano. The lowest point is Atlantic Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 402 km.

Land borders

4,591km, Central African Republic 797 km, Chad 1,094 km, Republic of the Congo 523 km, Equatorial Guinea 189 km, Gabon 298 km, Nigeria 1,690 km.

Administrative divisions

10 provinces; Adamaoua, Centre, Est, Extreme-Nord, Littoral, Nord, Nord-Ouest, Ouest, Sud, Sud-Ouest


1 January 1960 (from French-administered UN trusteeship)