• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Brazil flag
Extra Small animated flag of Brazil
Extra Small still Brazil flag
Extra Small still flag of Brazil
Small animated Brazil flag
Small animated flag of Brazil
Small still Brazil flag
Small still flag of Brazil
Medium animated Brazil flag
Medium animated flag of Brazil
Medium still Brazil flag
Medium still flag of Brazil
Large animated Brazil flag
Large animated flag of Brazil
Large still Brazil flag
Large still flag of Brazil
Extra Large animated Brazil flag
Extra Large animated flag of Brazil
Extra Large still Brazil flag
Extra Large still flag of Brazil
Very Big animated Brazil flag
Very Big animated flag of Brazil
Very Big still Brazil flag
Very Big still flag of Brazil
Read license terms before copying or using.

Brazil flag information

Description flag of Brazil

green with a large yellow diamond in the center bearing a blue celestial globe with 27 white five-pointed stars (one for each state and the Federal District) arranged in the same pattern as the night sky over Brazil; the globe has a white equatorial band with the motto ORDEM E PROGRESSO (Order and Progress)

Related country flags

Official country name

Federative Republic of Brazil

Short name


Local names

Republica Federativa do Brasil (long)
Brasil (short)


Brazilian(s) (noun) Brasil (adjective)

Languages spoken

Portuguese (official and most widely spoken language)


less common languages include Spanish (border areas and schools), German, Italian, Japanese, English, and a large number of minor Amerindian languages



Government type

federal republic


196,342,592 ranked 7, (data 2008)


largest country in South America; shares common boundaries with every South American country except Chile and Ecuador. The lowest point is Atlantic Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 7,491 km.

Land borders

16,885km, Argentina 1,261 km, Bolivia 3,423 km, Colombia 1,644 km, French Guiana 730 km, Guyana 1,606 km, Paraguay 1,365 km, Peru 2,995 km, Suriname 593 km, Uruguay 1,068 km, Venezuela 2,200 km.

Administrative divisions

26 states (estados, singular - estado) and 1 federal district* (distrito federal); Acre, Alagoas, Amapa, Amazonas, Bahia, Ceara, Distrito Federal*, Espirito Santo, Goias, Maranhao, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Minas Gerais, Para, Paraiba, Parana, Pernambuco, Piaui, Rio de Janeiro, Rio Grande do Norte, Rio Grande do Sul, Rondonia, Roraima, Santa Catarina, Sao Paulo, Sergipe, Tocantins


7 September 1822 (from Portugal)