• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Peru flag
Extra Small animated flag of Peru
Extra Small still Peru flag
Extra Small still flag of Peru
Small animated Peru flag
Small animated flag of Peru
Small still Peru flag
Small still flag of Peru
Medium animated Peru flag
Medium animated flag of Peru
Medium still Peru flag
Medium still flag of Peru
Large animated Peru flag
Large animated flag of Peru
Large still Peru flag
Large still flag of Peru
Extra Large animated Peru flag
Extra Large animated flag of Peru
Extra Large still Peru flag
Extra Large still flag of Peru
Very Big animated Peru flag
Very Big animated flag of Peru
Very Big still Peru flag
Very Big still flag of Peru
Read license terms before copying or using.

Peru flag information

Description flag of Peru

three equal vertical bands of red (hoist side), white and red with the coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms features a shield bearing a vicuna, cinchona tree (the source of quinine), and a yellow cornucopia spilling out gold coins, all framed by a green wreath

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Peru

Short name


Local names

Republica del Peru (long)
Peru (short)


Peruvian(s) (noun) Peru (adjective)

Languages spoken

Spanish (official), Quechua (official), Aymara, and a large number of minor Amazonian languages



Government type

constitutional republic


29,180,900 ranked 43, (data 2008)


shares control of Lago Titicaca, world's highest navigable lake, with Bolivia; a remote slope of Nevado Mismi, a 5,316 m peak, is the ultimate source of the Amazon River. The lowest point is Pacific Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 2,414 km.

Land borders

7,461km, Bolivia 1,075 km, Brazil 2,995 km, Chile 171 km, Colombia 1,800 km, Ecuador 1,420 km.

Administrative divisions

25 regions (regiones, singular - region) and 1 province* (provincia); Amazonas, Ancash, Apurimac, Arequipa, Ayacucho, Cajamarca, Callao, Cusco, Huancavelica, Huanuco, Ica, Junin, La Libertad, Lambayeque, Lima, Lima*, Loreto, Madre de Dios, Moquegua, Pasco, Piura, Puno, San Martin, Tacna, Tumbes, Ucayali


28 July 1821 (from Spain)