• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Vietnam flag
Extra Small animated flag of Vietnam
Extra Small still Vietnam flag
Extra Small still flag of Vietnam
Small animated Vietnam flag
Small animated flag of Vietnam
Small still Vietnam flag
Small still flag of Vietnam
Medium animated Vietnam flag
Medium animated flag of Vietnam
Medium still Vietnam flag
Medium still flag of Vietnam
Large animated Vietnam flag
Large animated flag of Vietnam
Large still Vietnam flag
Large still flag of Vietnam
Extra Large animated Vietnam flag
Extra Large animated flag of Vietnam
Extra Large still Vietnam flag
Extra Large still flag of Vietnam
Very Big animated Vietnam flag
Very Big animated flag of Vietnam
Very Big still Vietnam flag
Very Big still flag of Vietnam
Read license terms before copying or using.

Vietnam flag information

Description flag of Vietnam

red field with a large yellow five-pointed star in the center

Related country flags

Official country name

Socialist Republic of Vietnam

Short name


Local names

Cong Hoa Xa Hoi Chu Nghia Viet Nam (long)
Viet Nam (short)




Vietnamese (singular and plural) (noun) Viet Nam (adjective)

Languages spoken

Vietnamese (official), English (increasingly favored as a second language), some French, Chinese, and Khmer; mountain area languages (Mon-Khmer and Malayo-Polynesian)



Government type

Communist state


86,116,560 ranked 15, (data 2008)


extending 1,650 km north to south, the country is only 50 km across at its narrowest point. The lowest point is South China Sea 0 m.


Coastline 3,444 km. excludes islands

Land borders

4,639km, Cambodia 1,228 km, China 1,281 km, Laos 2,130 km.

Administrative divisions

59 provinces (tinh, singular and plural) and 5 municipalities (thanh pho, singular and plural)
provinces: An Giang, Bac Giang, Bac Kan, Bac Lieu, Bac Ninh, Ba Ria-Vung Tau, Ben Tre, Binh Dinh, Binh Duong, Binh Phuoc, Binh Thuan, Ca Mau, Cao Bang, Dac Lak, Dac Nong, Dien Bien, Dong Nai, Dong Thap, Gia Lai, Ha Giang, Ha Nam, Ha Tay, Ha Tinh, Hai Duong, Hau Giang, Hoa Binh, Hung Yen, Khanh Hoa, Kien Giang, Kon Tum, Lai Chau, Lam Dong, Lang Son, Lao Cai, Long An, Nam Dinh, Nghe An, Ninh Binh, Ninh Thuan, Phu Tho, Phu Yen, Quang Binh, Quang Nam, Quang Ngai, Quang Ninh, Quang Tri, Soc Trang, Son La, Tay Ninh, Thai Binh, Thai Nguyen, Thanh Hoa, Thua Thien-Hue, Tien Giang, Tra Vinh, Tuyen Quang, Vinh Long, Vinh Phuc, Yen Bai; municipalities: Can Tho, Da Nang, Hai Phong, Ha Noi, Ho Chi Minh


2 September 1945 (from France)