• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Indonesia flag
Extra Small animated flag of Indonesia
Extra Small still Indonesia flag
Extra Small still flag of Indonesia
Small animated Indonesia flag
Small animated flag of Indonesia
Small still Indonesia flag
Small still flag of Indonesia
Medium animated Indonesia flag
Medium animated flag of Indonesia
Medium still Indonesia flag
Medium still flag of Indonesia
Large animated Indonesia flag
Large animated flag of Indonesia
Large still Indonesia flag
Large still flag of Indonesia
Extra Large animated Indonesia flag
Extra Large animated flag of Indonesia
Extra Large still Indonesia flag
Extra Large still flag of Indonesia
Very Big animated Indonesia flag
Very Big animated flag of Indonesia
Very Big still Indonesia flag
Very Big still flag of Indonesia
Read license terms before copying or using.

Indonesia flag information

Description flag of Indonesia

two equal horizontal bands of red (top) and white; similar to the flag of Monaco, which is shorter; also similar to the flag of Poland, which is white (top) and red

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Indonesia

Short name


Local names

Republik Indonesia (long)
Indonesia (short)

Former name

Netherlands East Indies, Dutch East Indies


Indonesian(s) (noun) Indonesia (adjective)

Languages spoken

Bahasa Indonesia (official, modified form of Malay), English, Dutch, local dialects (the most widely spoken of which is Javanese)



Government type



237,512,352 ranked 6, (data 2008)


archipelago of 17,508 islands (6,000 inhabited); straddles equator; strategic location astride or along major sea lanes from Indian Ocean to Pacific Ocean. The lowest point is Indian Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 54,716 km.

Land borders

2,830km, Timor-Leste 228 km, Malaysia 1,782 km, Papua New Guinea 820 km.

Administrative divisions

30 provinces (propinsi-propinsi, singular - propinsi), 2 special regions* (daerah-daerah istimewa, singular - daerah istimewa), and 1 special capital city district** (daerah khusus ibukota); Aceh*, Bali, Banten, Bengkulu, Gorontalo, Jakarta Raya**, Jambi, Jawa Barat, Jawa Tengah, Jawa Timur, Kalimantan Barat, Kalimantan Selatan, Kalimantan Tengah, Kalimantan Timur, Kepulauan Bangka Belitung, Kepulauan Riau, Lampung, Maluku, Maluku Utara, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Nusa Tenggara Timur, Papua, Papua Barat (Irian Jaya Barat), Riau, Sulawesi Barat, Sulawesi Selatan, Sulawesi Tengah, Sulawesi Tenggara, Sulawesi Utara, Sumatera Barat, Sumatera Selatan, Sumatera Utara, Yogyakarta*
following the implementation of decentralization beginning on 1 January 2001, the 465 regencies and municipalities have become the key administrative units responsible for providing most government services


17 August 1945 (declared)
recognized by the Netherlands on 27 December 1949; in August 2005, the Netherlands announced it recognized de facto Indonesian independence on 17 August 1945