• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Malaysia flag
Extra Small animated flag of Malaysia
Extra Small still Malaysia flag
Extra Small still flag of Malaysia
Small animated Malaysia flag
Small animated flag of Malaysia
Small still Malaysia flag
Small still flag of Malaysia
Medium animated Malaysia flag
Medium animated flag of Malaysia
Medium still Malaysia flag
Medium still flag of Malaysia
Large animated Malaysia flag
Large animated flag of Malaysia
Large still Malaysia flag
Large still flag of Malaysia
Extra Large animated Malaysia flag
Extra Large animated flag of Malaysia
Extra Large still Malaysia flag
Extra Large still flag of Malaysia
Very Big animated Malaysia flag
Very Big animated flag of Malaysia
Very Big still Malaysia flag
Very Big still flag of Malaysia
Read license terms before copying or using.

Malaysia flag information

Description flag of Malaysia

14 equal horizontal stripes of red (top) alternating with white (bottom); there is a blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side corner bearing a yellow crescent and a yellow 14-pointed star; the crescent and the star are traditional symbols of Islam; the design was based on the flag of the US

Related country flags

Short name


Local names

Malaysia (short)

Former name

Federation of Malaya


Malaysian(s) (noun) Malaysia (adjective)

Languages spoken

Bahasa Malaysia (official), English, Chinese (Cantonese, Mandarin, Hokkien, Hakka, Hainan, Foochow), Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Panjabi, Thai


in East Malaysia there are several indigenous languages; most widely spoken are Iban and Kadazan


Kuala Lumpur

Government type

constitutional monarchy


25,274,132 ranked 48, (data 2008)


strategic location along Strait of Malacca and southern South China Sea. The lowest point is Indian Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 4,675 km. Peninsular Malaysia 2,068 km, East Malaysia 2,607 km

Land borders

2,669km, Brunei 381 km, Indonesia 1,782 km, Thailand 506 km.

Administrative divisions

13 states (negeri-negeri, singular - negeri) Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Pulau Pinang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, and Terengganu; and one federal territory (wilayah persekutuan) with three components, city of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, and Putrajaya


31 August 1957 (from UK)