• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Timor-Leste flag
Extra Small animated flag of Timor-Leste
Extra Small still Timor-Leste flag
Extra Small still flag of Timor-Leste
Small animated Timor-Leste flag
Small animated flag of Timor-Leste
Small still Timor-Leste flag
Small still flag of Timor-Leste
Medium animated Timor-Leste flag
Medium animated flag of Timor-Leste
Medium still Timor-Leste flag
Medium still flag of Timor-Leste
Large animated Timor-Leste flag
Large animated flag of Timor-Leste
Large still Timor-Leste flag
Large still flag of Timor-Leste
Extra Large animated Timor-Leste flag
Extra Large animated flag of Timor-Leste
Extra Large still Timor-Leste flag
Extra Large still flag of Timor-Leste
Very Big animated Timor-Leste flag
Very Big animated flag of Timor-Leste
Very Big still Timor-Leste flag
Very Big still flag of Timor-Leste
Read license terms before copying or using.

Timor-Leste flag information

Description flag of Timor-Leste

red with a black isosceles triangle (based on the hoist side) superimposed on a slightly longer yellow arrowhead that extends to the center of the flag; a white star is in the center of the black triangle

Related country flags

Official country name

Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

Short name


Local names

Republika Demokratika Timor Lorosa'e [Tetum]; Republica Democratica de Timor-Leste [Portuguese] (long)
Timor Lorosa'e [Tetum]; Timor-Leste [Portuguese] (short)

Former name

East Timor, Portuguese Timor


Timorese (noun) Timor Lorosa'e [Tetum]; Timor-Leste [Portuguese] (adjective)

Languages spoken

Tetum (official), Portuguese (official), Indonesian, English


there are about 16 indigenous languages; Tetum, Galole, Mambae, and Kemak are spoken by significant numbers of people



Government type



1,108,777 ranked 158, (data 2008)


Timor comes from the Malay word for ""East""; the island of Timor is part of the Malay Archipelago and is the largest and easternmost of the Lesser Sunda Islands. The lowest point is Timor Sea, Savu Sea, and Banda Sea 0 m.


Coastline 706 km.

Land borders

228km, Indonesia 228 km.

Administrative divisions

13 administrative districts; Aileu, Ainaro, Baucau, Bobonaro (Maliana), Cova-Lima (Suai), Dili, Ermera, Lautem (Los Palos), Liquica, Manatuto, Manufahi (Same), Oecussi (Ambeno), Viqueque


28 November 1975 (independence proclaimed from Portugal)
20 May 2002 is the official date of international recognition of Timor-Leste's independence from Indonesia