• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Nauru flag
Extra Small animated flag of Nauru
Extra Small still Nauru flag
Extra Small still flag of Nauru
Small animated Nauru flag
Small animated flag of Nauru
Small still Nauru flag
Small still flag of Nauru
Medium animated Nauru flag
Medium animated flag of Nauru
Medium still Nauru flag
Medium still flag of Nauru
Large animated Nauru flag
Large animated flag of Nauru
Large still Nauru flag
Large still flag of Nauru
Extra Large animated Nauru flag
Extra Large animated flag of Nauru
Extra Large still Nauru flag
Extra Large still flag of Nauru
Very Big animated Nauru flag
Very Big animated flag of Nauru
Very Big still Nauru flag
Very Big still flag of Nauru
Read license terms before copying or using.

Nauru flag information

Description flag of Nauru

blue with a narrow, horizontal yellow stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the yellow stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Nauru

Short name


Local names

Republic of Nauru (long)
Nauru (short)

Former name

Pleasant Island


Nauruan(s) (noun) Nauru (adjective)

Languages spoken

Nauruan (official; a distinct Pacific Island language), English widely understood, spoken, and used for most government and commercial purposes



Government type



13,770 ranked 225, (data 2008)


Nauru is one of the three great phosphate rock islands in the Pacific Ocean - the others are Banaba (Ocean Island) in Kiribati and Makatea in French Polynesia; only 53 km south of Equator. The lowest point is Pacific Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 30 km.

Land borders


Administrative divisions

14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baiti, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren


31 January 1968 (from the Australia-, NZ-, and UK-administered UN trusteeship)