• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Australia flag
Extra Small animated flag of Australia
Extra Small still Australia flag
Extra Small still flag of Australia
Small animated Australia flag
Small animated flag of Australia
Small still Australia flag
Small still flag of Australia
Medium animated Australia flag
Medium animated flag of Australia
Medium still Australia flag
Medium still flag of Australia
Large animated Australia flag
Large animated flag of Australia
Large still Australia flag
Large still flag of Australia
Extra Large animated Australia flag
Extra Large animated flag of Australia
Extra Large still Australia flag
Extra Large still flag of Australia
Very Big animated Australia flag
Very Big animated flag of Australia
Very Big still Australia flag
Very Big still flag of Australia
Read license terms before copying or using.

Australia flag information

Description flag of Australia

blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and a large seven-pointed star in the lower hoist-side quadrant known as the Commonwealth or Federation Star, representing the federation of the colonies of Australia in 1901; the star depicts one point for each of the six original states and one representing all of Australia's internal and external territories; on the fly half is a representation of the Southern Cross constellation in white with one small five-pointed star and four larger, seven-pointed stars

Related country flags

Official country name

Commonwealth of Australia

Short name



Australian(s) (noun) 0 (adjective)

Languages spoken

English 79.1%, Chinese 2.1%, Italian 1.9%, other 11.1%, unspecified 5.8% (2001 Census)



Government type

federal parliamentary democracy


21,007,310 ranked 56, (data 2008)


world's smallest continent but sixth-largest country; population concentrated along the eastern and southeastern coasts; the invigorating sea breeze known as the ""Fremantle Doctor"" affects the city of Perth on the west coast, and is one of the most consistent winds in the world. The lowest point is Lake Eyre -15 m.


Coastline 25,760 km.

Land borders


Administrative divisions

6 states and 2 territories*; Australian Capital Territory*, New South Wales, Northern Territory*, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia

Dependent areas

Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Norfolk Island, Macquarie Island


1 January 1901 (federation of UK colonies)