• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Palau flag
Extra Small animated flag of Palau
Extra Small still Palau flag
Extra Small still flag of Palau
Small animated Palau flag
Small animated flag of Palau
Small still Palau flag
Small still flag of Palau
Medium animated Palau flag
Medium animated flag of Palau
Medium still Palau flag
Medium still flag of Palau
Large animated Palau flag
Large animated flag of Palau
Large still Palau flag
Large still flag of Palau
Extra Large animated Palau flag
Extra Large animated flag of Palau
Extra Large still Palau flag
Extra Large still flag of Palau
Very Big animated Palau flag
Very Big animated flag of Palau
Very Big still Palau flag
Very Big still flag of Palau
Read license terms before copying or using.

Palau flag information

Description flag of Palau

light blue with a large yellow disk (representing the moon) shifted slightly to the hoist side

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Palau

Short name


Local names

Beluu er a Belau (long)
Belau (short)

Former name

Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Palau District


Palauan(s) (noun) Belau (adjective)

Languages spoken

Palauan 64.7% official in all islands except Sonsoral (Sonsoralese and English are official), Tobi (Tobi and English are official), and Angaur (Angaur, Japanese, and English are official), Filipino 13.5%, English 9.4%, Chinese 5.7%, Carolinian 1.5%, Japanese 1.5%, other Asian 2.3%, other languages 1.5% (2000 census)



Government type

constitutional government in free association with the US; the Compact of Free Association entered into force 1 October 1994


21,093 ranked 220, (data 2008)


westernmost archipelago in the Caroline chain, consists of six island groups totaling more than 300 islands; includes World War II battleground of Beliliou (Peleliu) and world-famous rock islands. The lowest point is Pacific Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 1,519 km.

Land borders


Administrative divisions

16 states; Aimeliik, Airai, Angaur, Hatohobei, Kayangel, Koror, Melekeok, Ngaraard, Ngarchelong, Ngardmau, Ngatpang, Ngchesar, Ngeremlengui, Ngiwal, Peleliu, Sonsorol


1 October 1994 (from the US-administered UN trusteeship)