• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Mexico flag
Extra Small animated flag of Mexico
Extra Small still Mexico flag
Extra Small still flag of Mexico
Small animated Mexico flag
Small animated flag of Mexico
Small still Mexico flag
Small still flag of Mexico
Medium animated Mexico flag
Medium animated flag of Mexico
Medium still Mexico flag
Medium still flag of Mexico
Large animated Mexico flag
Large animated flag of Mexico
Large still Mexico flag
Large still flag of Mexico
Extra Large animated Mexico flag
Extra Large animated flag of Mexico
Extra Large still Mexico flag
Extra Large still flag of Mexico
Very Big animated Mexico flag
Very Big animated flag of Mexico
Very Big still Mexico flag
Very Big still flag of Mexico
Read license terms before copying or using.

Mexico flag information

Description flag of Mexico

three equal vertical bands of green (hoist side), white and red; the coat of arms (an eagle with a snake in its beak perched on a cactus) is centered in the white band

Related country flags

Official country name

United Mexican States

Short name


Local names

Estados Unidos Mexicanos (long)
Mexico (short)


Mexican(s) (noun) Mexico (adjective)

Languages spoken

Spanish only 92.7%, Spanish and indigenous languages 5.7%, indigenous only 0.8%, unspecified 0.8%


indigenous languages include various Mayan, Nahuatl, and other regional languages (2005)


Mexico (Distrito Federal)

Government type

federal republic


109,955,400 ranked 13, (data 2008)


strategic location on southern border of US; corn (maize), one of the world's major grain crops, is thought to have originated in Mexico. The lowest point is Laguna Salada -10 m.


Coastline 9,330 km.

Land borders

4,353km, Belize 250 km, Guatemala 962 km, US 3,141 km.

Administrative divisions

31 states (estados, singular - estado) and 1 federal district* (distrito federal); Aguascalientes, Baja California, Baja California Sur, Campeche, Chiapas, Chihuahua, Coahuila de Zaragoza, Colima, Distrito Federal*, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, Mexico, Michoacan de Ocampo, Morelos, Nayarit, Nuevo Leon, Oaxaca, Puebla, Queretaro de Arteaga, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosi, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz-Llave, Yucatan, Zacatecas


16 September 1810 (declared); 27 September 1821 (recognized by Spain)