• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Cyprus flag
Extra Small animated flag of Cyprus
Extra Small still Cyprus flag
Extra Small still flag of Cyprus
Small animated Cyprus flag
Small animated flag of Cyprus
Small still Cyprus flag
Small still flag of Cyprus
Medium animated Cyprus flag
Medium animated flag of Cyprus
Medium still Cyprus flag
Medium still flag of Cyprus
Large animated Cyprus flag
Large animated flag of Cyprus
Large still Cyprus flag
Large still flag of Cyprus
Extra Large animated Cyprus flag
Extra Large animated flag of Cyprus
Extra Large still Cyprus flag
Extra Large still flag of Cyprus
Very Big animated Cyprus flag
Very Big animated flag of Cyprus
Very Big still Cyprus flag
Very Big still flag of Cyprus
Read license terms before copying or using.

Cyprus flag information

Description flag of Cyprus

white with a copper-colored silhouette of the island (the name Cyprus is derived from the Greek word for copper) above two green crossed olive branches in the center of the flag; the branches symbolize the hope for peace and reconciliation between the Greek and Turkish communities

Flag notes

the ""Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus"" flag has a white field with narrow horizontal red stripes positioned a small distance from the top and bottom edges between which is centered a red crescent and a red five-pointed star

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Cyprus

Short name


Local names

Kypriaki Dimokratia/Kibris Cumhuriyeti (long)
Kypros/Kibris (short)


the Turkish Cypriot community, which administers the northern part of the island, refers to itself as the ""Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus"" (TRNC)


Cypriot(s) (noun) Kypros/Kibris (adjective)

Languages spoken

Greek, Turkish, English


Nicosia (Lefkosia)

Government type



792,604 ranked 161, (data 2008)


the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea (after Sicily and Sardinia). The lowest point is Mediterranean Sea 0 m.


Coastline 648 km.

Land borders


Administrative divisions

6 districts; Famagusta, Kyrenia, Larnaca, Limassol, Nicosia, Paphos; note - Turkish Cypriot area's administrative divisions include Kyrenia, all but a small part of Famagusta, and small parts of Lefkosia (Nicosia)


16 August 1960 (from UK)
Turkish Cypriots proclaimed self-rule on 13 February 1975 and independence in 1983, but these proclamations are only recognized by Turkey