• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Iraq flag
Extra Small animated flag of Iraq
Extra Small still Iraq flag
Extra Small still flag of Iraq
Small animated Iraq flag
Small animated flag of Iraq
Small still Iraq flag
Small still flag of Iraq
Medium animated Iraq flag
Medium animated flag of Iraq
Medium still Iraq flag
Medium still flag of Iraq
Large animated Iraq flag
Large animated flag of Iraq
Large still Iraq flag
Large still flag of Iraq
Extra Large animated Iraq flag
Extra Large animated flag of Iraq
Extra Large still Iraq flag
Extra Large still flag of Iraq
Very Big animated Iraq flag
Very Big animated flag of Iraq
Very Big still Iraq flag
Very Big still flag of Iraq
Read license terms before copying or using.

Iraq flag information

Description flag of Iraq

three equal horizontal bands of red (top), white and black; the Takbir (Arabic expression meaning ""God is great"") in green Arabic script is centered in the white band; similar to the flag of Syria, which has two stars but no script, Yemen, which has a plain white band, and that of Egypt, which has a gold Eagle of Saladin centered in the white band; design is based upon the Arab Liberation colors; Council of Representatives approved this flag as a compromise temporary replacement for Ba'athist Saddam-era flag

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Iraq

Short name


Local names

Al Jumhuriyah al-Iraqiyah (long)
Al Iraq (short)


Iraqi(s) (noun) Al Iraq (adjective)

Languages spoken

Arabic, Kurdish (official in Kurdish regions), Turkoman (a Turkish dialect), Assyrian (Neo-Aramaic), Armenian



Government type

parliamentary democracy


28,221,180 ranked 44, (data 2008)


strategic location on Shatt al Arab waterway and at the head of the Persian Gulf. The lowest point is Persian Gulf 0 m.


Coastline 58 km.

Land borders

3,650km, Iran 1,458 km, Jordan 181 km, Kuwait 240 km, Saudi Arabia 814 km, Syria 605 km, Turkey 352 km.

Administrative divisions

18 governorates (muhafazat, singular - muhafazah) and 1 region*; Al Anbar, Al Basrah, Al Muthanna, Al Qadisiyah, An Najaf, Arbil, As Sulaymaniyah, At Ta'mim, Babil, Baghdad, Dahuk, Dhi Qar, Diyala, Karbala', Kurdistan Regional Government*, Maysan, Ninawa, Salah ad Din, Wasit


3 October 1932 (from League of Nations mandate under British administration)
on 28 June 2004 the Coalition Provisional Authority transferred sovereignty to the Iraqi-controlled Government