• Select size:
  • Select motion:
Extra Small animated Guatemala flag
Extra Small animated flag of Guatemala
Extra Small still Guatemala flag
Extra Small still flag of Guatemala
Small animated Guatemala flag
Small animated flag of Guatemala
Small still Guatemala flag
Small still flag of Guatemala
Medium animated Guatemala flag
Medium animated flag of Guatemala
Medium still Guatemala flag
Medium still flag of Guatemala
Large animated Guatemala flag
Large animated flag of Guatemala
Large still Guatemala flag
Large still flag of Guatemala
Extra Large animated Guatemala flag
Extra Large animated flag of Guatemala
Extra Large still Guatemala flag
Extra Large still flag of Guatemala
Very Big animated Guatemala flag
Very Big animated flag of Guatemala
Very Big still Guatemala flag
Very Big still flag of Guatemala
Read license terms before copying or using.

Guatemala flag information

Description flag of Guatemala

three equal vertical bands of light blue (hoist side), white and light blue with the coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms includes a green and red quetzal (the national bird) and a scroll bearing the inscription LIBERTAD 15 DE SEPTIEMBRE DE 1821 (the original date of independence from Spain) all superimposed on a pair of crossed rifles and a pair of crossed swords and framed by a wreath

Related country flags

Official country name

Republic of Guatemala

Short name


Local names

Republica de Guatemala (long)
Guatemala (short)


Guatemalan(s) (noun) Guatemala (adjective)

Languages spoken

Spanish 60%, Amerindian languages 40% (23 officially recognized Amerindian languages, including Quiche, Cakchiquel, Kekchi, Mam, Garifuna, and Xinca)



Government type

constitutional democratic republic


13,002,206 ranked 69, (data 2008)


no natural harbors on west coast. The lowest point is Pacific Ocean 0 m.


Coastline 400 km.

Land borders

1,687km, Belize 266 km, El Salvador 203 km, Honduras 256 km, Mexico 962 km.

Administrative divisions

22 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento); Alta Verapaz, Baja Verapaz, Chimaltenango, Chiquimula, El Progreso, Escuintla, Guatemala, Huehuetenango, Izabal, Jalapa, Jutiapa, Peten, Quetzaltenango, Quiche, Retalhuleu, Sacatepequez, San Marcos, Santa Rosa, Solola, Suchitepequez, Totonicapan, Zacapa


15 September 1821 (from Spain)